Shi Lin, Alabang Town Center

I first heard about Shi Lin from my sister, who had purchased a voucher for dimsum and noodles. So we went, stuffed ourselves senseless, and we’ve been coming back ever since.

The main reason why we go back to this Taiwanese restaurant is the Xiao Long Bao, which means “small basket dumpling.” It may look like a regular dumpling to you, but inside that flour dough wrapper is a warm, flavorful soup usually made with chicken and ham broth. I read somewhere that the Xiao Long Bao is an art form of sorts, because of how meticulous it is to prepare and to eat (Shi Lin has a small, laminated card on their tables with instructions on how to eat the dumpling). I agree, and meticulous or not, we can’t get enough of them.

Xiao Long Bao Xiao Long Bao – Php246.00 for 10pcs.

And here are two more of our Shi Lin staples.

Braised Beef Soup Braised Beef Noodles – Php268.00. I fell in love with this as soon as I saw its name on the menu. Serving is huge, meat is tender and seasoned well, the soup has a spicy kick to it. I add more chili oil tho, coz I like it really hot. :))

Deep Fried Asado Buns Deep Fried Asado Buns – Php128.00 for 3pcs. This was a pleasant surprise. They’re actually your typical fried siopao but unlike those you can buy just anywhere, these have soft buns even after being deep-fried (I had the experience of buying a toasted siopao that was almost as hard as a rock), and it comes with condensed milk. Now I don’t know what possessed people to start dipping this in condensed milk and the concept sounds weird, but it actually works. That explosion of sweet and salty flavors is hard to explain. But it really works. You’re gonna have to try it to understand.

Great. Now I’m hungry.

Location: Ground Floor, Alabang Town Center, Alabang, Muntinlupa City

Contact Number: (0917) 7408232, (02) 8699869, (02) 2121212 (Delivery)

Store Hours: 11 AM to 9 PM (Mon-Fri), 10 AM to 10 PM (Sat-Sun)

Cuisine: Taiwanese

Price Range: Php300.00~

Payment Method: Cash and cards accepted

 

