Swiss Deli Restaurant, BF Homes

Last week, I got invited to a food-tasting event in BF Homes by Ruth, one of my blogger friends who referred me to Albert Saspa since she couldn’t make it. I said yes (not gonna pass up a chance to discover a new restaurant. And eat. LOL), but when I found out it was going to be at Swiss Deli, my excitement shot through the roof.

My sisters and I have become regulars of The Swiss Deli Restaurant ever since it opened last October 08, 2013. Owned by chef Jeffry Lua, this restaurant offers authentic European cuisine (using tried and tested family recipes), a wide selection of sausages and meats (fresh from their own factories in Davao), German beer, cheeses, fast and friendly service, a family-friendly ambiance, and huge servings at very affordable prices – basically, a gastronomic Disneyland for me and my family.

 

menu copy

 

Here’s a brief walkthrough of the Swiss Deli resto. The 10-car parking lot is “guarded” by Spatzle the Holstein Cow (which my friends and I have been wanting to cow-nap for the longest time). As soon as you enter, you will be greeted by uber friendly staff (the first time I went there, they were wearing traditional Swiss clothing) who will immediately take you to a table. To the left are huge freezers filled with sausages and meat products (stored at -21 degrees to ensure freshness and maximum shelf life) and a display of various cheeses such as mozzarella, gouda, and provolone to name a few. At the far end, after the tables for dine-in customers, is a small function room (10pax) for private gatherings. And that, ladies and gents, is my pathetic attempt at describing the place. :))

Okay, enough about that. Let’s get on with the food! *cue in glorious rays of light and hallelujah music*

 house blend iced teaHouse Blend Iced Tea w/ Lychee (Php145.00). This was my drink for the night, and I loved how it’s not too sweet and you still get that classic tea taste. I also liked the bits of lychee floating in there.

pomegranate mojitoPomegranate Mojito (Php120.00). Thoroughly intrigued by this, especially because it looks so pretty. Getting this next time we eat there.

four seasonsFour Seasons (Pho145.00)

basil lemonadeBasil Lemonade (Php120.00)

cucumber lemonadeCucumber Lemonade (Php120.00). One word – refreshing. Whoever thought of this is an absolute genius. One sip took me to a beautiful meadow in springtime. Or to a spa, with cucumbers all over my face and eyes. :))

cheese fondue copyCheese Fondue (Php600.00, good for 2-4 people). This is one of the main reasons why we go to Swiss Deli. Swiss Appenzeller, Emmenthal, and Gruyere, a splash of wine, slices of bread, and voila! A dish I want to spend the rest of my life with! There’s a wine-less option for the kids and the non-wine lovers.

jeffry sampling the cheese fondueChef Jeffry Lua showing us how to dip the bread properly – you need to pierce the crust side of the bread with the fork so it won’t fall into the fondue.


jeffry luaChef Jeffry explaining his Swiss Deli kitchen philosophy – treat it with respect, as if it’s the kitchen you have at home.

swiss sausage and cheese saladSwiss Sausage and Cheese Salad (Php290.00). That dressing and the Gruyere tastes soooo good.

mediterranean pasta saladMediterranean Salad (Php175.00). Tuna, lettuce, penne that’s cooked al dente. Yum!

beef ribsMarinated Beef Ribs (Php315.00). The meat slides off the ribs with ease. And that sauce? Wow.

grilled salmonLachs, a.k.a Grilled Salmon, served with White Wine Sauce (Php355.00). What makes this special is that sauce. That right amount of creaminess and balance of flavors really compliments the salmon. And that lemon squeezer is ingenious.

sausage platterSausage Platter (Php400.00). Hungarian, Veal Bratwurst, Frankfurter and English Beef Sausage, served pulutan style. Get this along with the cheese fondue!

pork knucklesPork Knuckles (Php395.00). This is like your typical Crispy Pata, except that you really don’t need any sauce for this. The flavors are infused in the meat, the skin is super crispy, the spatzle (those pasta-like things at the back) is well-seasoned, and the sauerkraut (the cabbage under the knuckle) has that salty and sour flavor that takes a bit of getting used to (I think it’s an acquired taste). My older sister loves it, tho.

chicken zurich with english friesChicken “Zurich Style” w/ English Fries (Php220.00). Your basic chicken breast in mushroom sauce. We got fries with this but I think that sauce will really go well with rice. And I’m a sucker for creamy mushroom sauce on rice. 

aglio e olio with mixed seafoodAglio e Olio w/ Mixed Seafood (Php270.00). A classic Italian dish which means “garlic and oil” mixed with chunks of shrimp, squid (which was cooked perfectly, by the way), fish, and penne al dente. 

fire and ice bread puddingFire and Ice Bread Pudding (Php130.00). My favorite dessert. That warm bread pudding and the cold ice cream had a party in my mouth. LOL. You have to eat it fast before the ice cream melts or the pudding cools down.

apple strudelApple Strudel (Php120.00). Kind of like an Apple Pie a la mode, except the apples are wrapped in a thin, unleavened pastry. 

caramel cakeCaramel Cake (Php120.00). One had almonds, the other had pistachios. Pretty good, but it was a little too sweet for me.

cheesecakeCreme Brulee Cheesecake. I couldn’t find this in their menu, haha. But this is a very rich but not overly sweet piece of cheesecake. I can eat a whole plate of this.

pesto goudaPesto Gouda Cheese. I love love love this! I can already imagine this on a piece of bread or a cracker, put in the toaster or microwave and let the cheese melt slightly. Omaygad, I want.

Are you hungry yet? Yes? Then what are you waiting for? Head on over to The Swiss Deli Restaurant! (They have a branch in Davao too!)

Location: 321 Aguirre Avenue, BF Homes Parañaque (right across Sinangag Express Phase 3 and Outbox)

Contact Number: (02) 9850017, (02) 9850028, (0908) 819 4880

Store Hours: 10 AM to 10 PM (Mon-Fri), 8 AM to 10 PM (Sat-Sun)

Cuisine: European

Price Range: Php300.00~

Payment Methods: Cash and cards accepted

