Outrè’s Liquid Nitrogen Gelato and Prawn Mac N’ Cheese

I’ve been living in BF Homes my whole life, and the amount of restaurants with interesting gimmicks popping up like wild mushrooms in Aguirre Ave. never ceases to amaze me.

One such place is Outrè (ooh-tray, not out-tray) Manila, located at 169 A. Aguirre Ave. BF Homes, right across Tous Les Jours. The word “outrè” is French for “unconventional” or “bizarre,” and as the name suggests, what makes them different and strangely appealing is that they use liquid nitrogen to make their gelato. You basically pour the liquid nitrogen (slowly, to maintain a smooth consistency) onto a mixer with milk and whatever flavor and stir consistently until you get the desired thickness. All the smoke that comes out of that mixer looks so cool.

My friends and I ordered an ice cream each, while I added the Prawn Mac N’ Cheese just to satisfy my curiosity.

 

Their crafted liquid nitrogen gelato comes in premium (Php150.00) and regular (Php130.00) flavors, which change every month. I was expecting something like Amici’s gelato (before it became CaraMia) or Wendy’s Frosty – thick, rich, and creamy – but I didn’t get that. If you do not consider the fact that it was made with liquid nitrogen, the ice cream isn’t that special.

The Prawn Mac N’ Cheese (Php255.00) was meh, for lack of a better word. Too expensive for a small dish with not enough cheese (I like ’em really cheesy) and a few pieces of shrimp. Macaroni was cooked al dente, tho.

Unfortunately, Outre did not live up to its buzz and it’s sad because the place looks really nice (those liquid nitrogen tanks at the corner of the room that spout smoke that crawls on the floors are so f*cking cool)  and the people are friendly. But yeah, I’d rather just get myself a Frosty.

Location: JJACC Bldg., 169 Aguirre Ave., BF Homes, Parañaque

Contact Number: (02) 8322990

Store Hours: 1 PM to 10 PM (Mon-Thurs, Sun), 1 PM to 11 PM (Fri-Sat)

Cuisine: Australian (sangers and liquid nitrogen gelato)

Price Range: Php350~

Payment Method: Cash only

Click here to visit their Facebook and Instagram pages.

